I Think I Get It

Raised in a big city suburb. Your older siblings teased you. You hung out with the cool kids because of a sport, but really your intelligence isolated you, or at least made you distinct. They never knew.

You went to Harvard on brains and brawn, but ended up chasing the former. You graduated and now you’re in the real world with all that intelligence, trying to figure out what to do with all that talent. Trying to lead a conscientious life. Worrying about whether potential has a shelf life.

I think I get it. I really do. I care, but it’s partially selfish. I care because I think I get you. I think I get you because I (like to) believe you’re like me. I hope you find what you’re looking for. I hope good things happen to you.

Leave a Reply

